Representatives Benson & Atkins, Senator Eldridge Announce MassDEP Grant for Acton Recycling Program

ACTON –  Representatives Jennifer Benson (D-Lunenburg), Cory Atkins (D-Concord), and Senator Jamie Eldridge (D-Acton) announced today that the Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) awarded the Town of Acton a grant in the amount of $7,500 through the Sustainable Materials Recovery Program (SMRP), which will allow the town to purchase a mixed paper compactor for their transfer station and recycling center.

“I want to thank the Baker-Polito Administration for partnering with Acton to help expand their recycling program,” said Representative Benson. “This grant will allow the town to recycle more, help the environment, and provide a better quality of service to their residents.”

“Acton has been at the forefront of recycling and sustainability for many years, and these funds will allow the residents to continue working towards a greener community,” said Representative Atkins.

“We all know that recycling is something that we are supposed to do as responsible citizens,” said Senator Eldridge. “I applaud the Baker-Polito Administration and the Department of Environmental Protection for securing this vital grant for the Town of Acton to protect our earth, encourage recycling, and ultimately make it easier for people to do.”

The SMRP was created under the Green Communities Act, and offers funding for recycling, composting, reuse, and source reduction activities that will reduce the amount of waste in landfills and incinerators. Waste prevention and recycling reduces greenhouse gas emissions by capturing the embodied energy in waste and converting these sources into new products with a smaller carbon footprint.